Alachua County Historical Commission

Historical Tour Series * Historical Markers

The Alachua County Historical Commission is the official county agency concerned with heritage and history. It represents Alachua County in matters pertaining to the history of Alachua County; and provides leadership in advancing the idenification, protection, preservation and interpretation of Alachua County's cultural heritage and history.

The board consists of 11 members, appointed by the County Commission. Members are selected in consideration of the interest of history, cultural lore, the development and the institutions and sites of Alachua County and their interest in participating actively in the preservation and commemoration of the heritage of Alachua County.

The 11 members are:
  • Ashley Wood, Chair
  • Verdell Robinson, Vice Chair
  • Amanda Aubuchon, Secretary
  • Melanie Barr (alternate)
  • William Breeze
  • Kendra Gillum
  • Bryan Griffin
  • Karen Kirkman
  • Carl Rose
  • Florence Van Arnam
  • JP Weesner

To reach a member of the commission and to obtain minutes from previous meetings,
please call, or visit:

Alachua County
Growth Management Department
10 S.W. 2nd Avenue
Gainesville, FL 32601
(352) 374-5249